Yoga Nidra

Let us bow with reverence to the Revered Swami Satyananda  before we write about the Hatha Yoga technique called Yoga nidra application of Pratyahara..the Fifth limb of Patanjali's Raja yoga.
The technique has been revived and presented superbly by Revered Swami Satyananda to the humanity.

We at Swami Krishnananda Yoga Vidyapeeth practice and teach Yoga nidra level 1 in TTC HATHA YOGA THERAPY. ..levels 2 and 3 in chakra sadhana. ...level 4 in Prana vidya....level 5 in meditation classes.

Yoga nidra. ...yogic sleep...hypnagogic sleep. ..ajadya nidra.
..unmani avastha. ..manonmani avastha. a supernatural state...attained with the help of tools viz.feeling , awareness and visualisation. is a state of experiential existence which the practitioner may use to attain goal...or realise a dream implanting a seed the form of sankalpa. ..the resolve. ..
The same blissful state can be transformed into an unforgettable yet incomprehensible experience. ..if the experiencer ceases to be....thereby letting the hidden aspects of the experience come to the lay open the psychological reveal the cause of longstanding patterns of thinking and behaviour followed inadvertently. ....the cause of many a psychosomatic disorders....or if delved deeper into the unconscious. .through the unconscious into the let the super conscious prevail....which if accompanied by the cessation of the experience and the experiencer ...leads to the highest or the deepest level of yoga nidra defined by Adi Shankaracharya in Yoga Taravali or by Swatmarama in Hatha Yoga Pradipika.

Chakra Sadhana

Unique opportunity to demystify the idea people have about the chakras, learn to relate to them and use sadhana to grow through them.The course will be led by Yogacharya Dr. K. Ashutosh (MBBS, PGDY, NDDY, Ph.D (Yoga)), a disciple of Swami Krishnananda, Divine Life Society, Sivananda Ashram, Rishikesh. He will be assisted by Yoga Shiromani Mrs. Kadambari, former World Champion Artistic Yoga.

Through the practices of asana, pranayama and different meditation practices this course will familiarize you with practical applications of the chakras and the role they take in our physical, psychological, mental and spiritual expressions. This course will delve into yogic theory and practices to purify and awaken the chakras. You will begin by developing Chakra awareness and then gradually move into the chakra awakening and purification.

The literal meaning of the word chakra is 'wheel or circle', but in the yogic context a better translation of the Sanskrit word is 'vortex or whirlpool'. The chakras are vortices of psychic energy and they are visualized and experienced as circular movements of energy at prticular rates of vibraion.

For each person there are myriads of chakras, but in the practices of tantra and yoga, only a few principal ones are utilized. These chakras span the full spectrum of man's being from the gross to the subtle.

There are eight chakras in the human body which are directly connected with the higher unillumined centers of the brain. The first chakra is mooladhara. It is situated in the pelvic floor and corresponds to the coccygeal plexus of nerves. In the masculine body it lies between the urinary and excretory openings, in the form of a small dormant gland termed the perineal body. In the feminine body it is situated inside the posterior surface of the cervix.

Mooladhara is the first chakra in the spiritual evolution of man. It is also the last chakra in the completion of animal evolution. From mooladhara chakra upwards lie the chakras which are concerned with illumination and evolution of the higher man or superman. Mooladhara chakra has control over the entire range of excretory and sexual functions in man.

The second chakra is swadhisthana, located at the lowest point or termination of the spinal cord. It corresponds to the sacral plexus of nerves and controls the unconscious in man.

The third chakra is manipura, situated in the spinal column exactly at the level of the navel. It corresponds to the solar plexus and controls the entire processes of digestion, addimilation and temperature regulation in the body.

The fourth chakra is anahata, and it lies in the vertebral column behind the base of the heart, at the level of the depression in the sternum. It corresponds to the cardiac plexus of nerves, and controls the functions of the heart, the lungs, the diaphragm and other organs in this region of the body.

The fifth chakra is vishuddhi, which lies at the level of the throat pit in the vertebral column. This chakra corresponds to the cervial plexus of nerves and controls the thyroid complex and also some systems of articulation, the upper palate and the epiglottis.
Ajna, the sixth and most important chakra, corresponds to the pituitary gland, lying in the midlime of the brain dirctly behind the middle of eyebrows. Tantra maintains that ajna chakra has complete control over all the functions of the body.

There are also two higher centers in the brain which are commonly refered to in kundalini yoga : bindu and sahasrara.

Bindu is located at the back of ajna chakra,  where the Hindu brahmins symbolically keep a tuft of hair. This is the point where oneness first divides itself into many. This chakra corresponds to the pineal gland.

Sahasrara is supreme; it is the final culmination of kundalini shakti, the seat of higher awareness. Sahasrara is physically corelated to the hypothalamus gland which controls each and every gland and system of the body.

Course Curriculum -

Basic Concepts Of Yoga Nidra
Yoga Nidra & Modern Medicine
Benefits Of Yoga Nidra
Practice Of Yoga Nidra (Level 1,2,3)
Theoretical aspects of chakras
Chakra awareness
Chakra Purification
Chakra awakening
Chakra harmonisation

Please See the Eligibility Criteria to Join the Course, listed here