banner image

Chakra Sadhana Intensive Course

Unique opportunity to demystify the idea people have about the chakras, learn to relate to them and use sadhana to grow through them.The course will be led by Yogacharya Dr. K. Ashutosh (MBBS, PGDY, NDDY, Ph.D (Yoga)), a disciple of Swami Krishnananda, Divine Life Society, Sivananda Ashram, Rishikesh. He will be assisted by Yoga Shiromani Mrs. Kadambari, former World Champion Artistic Yoga.

Through the practices of asana, pranayama and different meditation practices this course will familiarize you with practical applications of the chakras and the role they take in our physical, psychological, mental and spiritual expressions. This course will delve into yogic theory and practices to purify and awaken the chakras. You will begin by developing Chakra awareness and then gradually move into the chakra awakening and purification.

The literal meaning of the word chakra is 'wheel or circle', but in the yogic context a better translation of the Sanskrit word is 'vortex or whirlpool'. The chakras are vortices of psychic energy and they are visualized and experienced as circular movements of energy at prticular rates of vibraion.

For each person there are myriads of chakras, but in the practices of tantra and yoga, only a few principal ones are utilized. These chakras span the full spectrum of man's being from the gross to the subtle.

There are eight chakras in the human body which are directly connected with the higher unillumined centers of the brain. The first chakra is mooladhara. It is situated in the pelvic floor and corresponds to the coccygeal plexus of nerves. In the masculine body it lies between the urinary and excretory openings, in the form of a small dormant gland termed the perineal body. In the feminine body it is situated inside the posterior surface of the cervix.

Mooladhara is the first chakra in the spiritual evolution of man. It is also the last chakra in the completion of animal evolution. From mooladhara chakra upwards lie the chakras which are concerned with illumination and evolution of the higher man or superman. Mooladhara chakra has control over the entire range of excretory and sexual functions in man.

The second chakra is swadhisthana, located at the lowest point or termination of the spinal cord. It corresponds to the sacral plexus of nerves and controls the unconscious in man.

The third chakra is manipura, situated in the spinal column exactly at the level of the navel. It corresponds to the solar plexus and controls the entire processes of digestion, addimilation and temperature regulation in the body.

The fourth chakra is anahata, and it lies in the vertebral column behind the base of the heart, at the level of the depression in the sternum. It corresponds to the cardiac plexus of nerves, and controls the functions of the heart, the lungs, the diaphragm and other organs in this region of the body.

The fifth chakra is vishuddhi, which lies at the level of the throat pit in the vertebral column. This chakra corresponds to the cervial plexus of nerves and controls the thyroid complex and also some systems of articulation, the upper palate and the epiglottis.
Ajna, the sixth and most important chakra, corresponds to the pituitary gland, lying in the midlime of the brain dirctly behind the middle of eyebrows. Tantra maintains that ajna chakra has complete control over all the functions of the body.

There are also two higher centers in the brain which are commonly refered to in kundalini yoga : bindu and sahasrara.

Bindu is located at the back of ajna chakra,  where the Hindu brahmins symbolically keep a tuft of hair. This is the point where oneness first divides itself into many. This chakra corresponds to the pineal gland.

Sahasrara is supreme; it is the final culmination of kundalini shakti, the seat of higher awareness. Sahasrara is physically corelated to the hypothalamus gland which controls each and every gland and system of the body.

Course Curriculum -
Foundation (Theoretical aspects)
Techniques Employed
Kriya Yoga
Chakra Awareness
Chakra Purification
Chakra Awakening
Eligibility Criteria - At least three months practical experience in Yoga
Medium of Instruction - English
Course Fee - Contribute (if you feel like)
Chakra Sadhana Intensive Course Chakra Sadhana Intensive Course Reviewed by Saum on October 02, 2017 Rating: 5


Powered by Blogger.